Totally Australia
Hotel Accommodation Flights Car Hire / Rental  


ZUJI AU - MLOB Cannonball 300x250

Find Me The Best Priced Flight

(age 0-12)

More Search Options >>

Find Me The Best Priced Hotel

More Search Options >>


Great Flight Deals for Busy Commuters

Flight deals in Australia can give you the wings you need to take you anywhere in the country you want or need to go on holiday or as a commuter. The Commonwealth of Australia is comprised of six states, including New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania, as well as all 10 territories. Each individual state is governed by its own constitution and is divided into executive, legislative and judicial branches, just as the federal government is.

The state parliaments are granted the authority to pass laws on any matter not already governed by the Commonwealth. The territories are more limited in their powers of self-government. However, because the Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory have substantial populations, they are granted more leeway in their self-governance.

New South Wales is Australia’s most populous state. Sydney, the state capital and Australia’s largest city, has some of the most spectacular scenery in the country as well as the best-known landmarks. More than 6 million people call NSW home and enjoy the various regions that include the Blue Mountains, the Snowy Mountains, the coastal regions and the Outback.

Queensland is just north of NSW and is popular with those on holiday. It is home to the Great Barrier Reef, Fraser Island, Gold Coast, Cape York Peninsula, Daintree National Park and Cairns. South of NSW is Victoria, which is a small state but is home to some of the most beautiful scenery in the country. Melbourne is the capital of Victoria and is also said to be the cultural capital of the country. Also located in Victoria are the Yarra River and the Great Ocean Road.

South Australia is immediately west of Victoria and NSW. South Australia extends deep into the Outback and is known for its wineries, particularly those in the Barossa Valley region. Adelaide, the capital city, is often called the City of Churches and is extremely progressive. The Yorke Peninsula, Australian Alps and Flinders Ranges are also located in South Australia.

Western Australia is the largest state on the continent, but the population is sparse, and more than 80 percent of it is concentrated in the capital city of Perth. WA is home to Monkey Mia, Avon Valley and the vast Kimberley region. Tasmania, Australia’s only island state, is rich in national parks, rainforests and waterfalls. The capital of Tasmania is Hobart.

The Northern Territory is the largest territory in the country. It covers more than 1.3 million square kilometres and accounts for one-fifth of Australia’s landmass. The brilliant Red Centre is located in the Northern Territory, as are Uluru, Kings Canyon and Kakadu National Park.


Home | Hotel Accommodation | Flights | Car Hire/Rental | Travel News

Copyright 2011 Totally Australia | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer Copyright | Contact | About Us | Sitemap   Follow TotallyAust on Twitter  Myspace  Face  IN  YT